Transfer from pencil and daybook

This blog is to replace a rather dull diary of my green woodworking activities, previously maintained in a hardback book in pencil.  Rather out of date as can be seen below.

So today I have been very busy, it being near Christmas and Strid Wood (near Bolton Abbey, Yorkshire, UK), where I work, was busy with visitors to Father Christmas’s gypsy caravan/grotto.  At my bodgery I am running a bran tub.  This is a bin full of shavings and buried in it are brown envelopes containing wooden presents and a bay leaf.  The latter is an evergreen to remind us that Spring will return, it’s also good for cooking in soups, stocks etc.  I’ve made the presents, mostly on my pole lathe (I’ll post a description in due course but here’s a photo).

Leave a Reply

