Bird tables

Bird table III now in field test in Strid Woods before being collected by my client tomorrow.  Yesterday I put some wild bird seed on the table to see if there would be any takers.  Bird table II had no customers at all and I ended up after four days, dumping the uneaten seed  on the ground before delivery, and one of the many pheasants probably ate that. Field testHowever, with #III about 10 minutes after feeding the table was alive with birds: Great and Blue Tits and a pair of Nuthatches.  I guess the birds in a wood are pretty unaccustomed to artificial feeders, although I did put a red Holly berry among the seed in hopes of attracting their attention – do birds see in colour, I wonder?

Leave a Reply

