Asylum in the woods

Today I’ve been helped out by a minibusful of friendly people who would otherwise be bored to tears in their hostel.  They were a group of asylum seekers introduced to me by Yorkshire Dales Millennium Trust .

What a cheerful bunch, but with pretty sad backgrounds, made me feel quite humble I must say.  I was glad to be able to give them a day out in the woods with some purpose.  They helped prepare a charge for the kiln, cutting small stuff to length and loading and unloading the trailer.  Here are a few of them in t’Bodgery, some others were playing cricket with a small log and the ball was a small quarter-round offcut – much more fun than wii (whatever that is?).

There were a few helpers who came with them too.  Rather a hectic few hours, one guy had been in the Somalian army and insisted on running with logs on his shoulder that I could barely lift.

We went up to the forestry yard to unload and I explained how the kiln works.  One chap explained through an interpretor how they burnt charcoal back home – stacked vertically and covered in sand – just like we did here some time ago.

Anyway we ended up with a good stack ready for a charge.  I should have prepared the floor in the kiln, then we could have unloaded directly into the kiln. Drat! double-handling required now!  Mental note made for next time.  My new trailer features here too.  More pictures from someone else’s camera when they appear by the kiln with my helpers.

Leave a Reply

