NE American trees

I think I can count the varieties of trees in Strid Wood on both fingers, lets see: english oak, sessile oak, ash, beech, sycamore, alder, rowan, bird cherry, silver birch, elm, balsam poplar (non-native), holly, yew, hazel OK I’m over ten, but I’m struggling now, there are probably a couple of others, douglas fir etc.  On our trip to New York, and especially upstate in the Adirondacks I was bewildered by the tree varieties, most of which I didn’t recognise.  I reckon there were at least three types of oak:

white oak:

Scarlet oak:

I think there was red oak too, but I didn’t get my thrift store book (Reader’s Digest North American Wildlife) until we were coming away, so I’m relying on collected leaves and photos.

Here are the oaks (whoops, missed out the white oak):

And then the maples, I was quite at sea with these:

Then what I was thinking were chestnut (which I should have remembered has been wiped out) turned out to be beech with leaves much bigger than the beeches at home:

The one bottom right is something else, some oaks have leaves in this shape too but I don’t think they occur round the NE (live oak I’m thinking of, like to see one of these one day)

Then miscellanea:

The biggest one is Moosewood, this had puzzled me as it seemed to be a prolific bush, but this was just regeneration, it has an interesting stripey bark:

Then there seems to be basswood and cottonwood. You’ll know this tree my blogger friend Tico said (it is obvious when you know it – the bark is diagnostic) “Nope!” I said, well it’s shag bark hickory:

Back to the workshop and continuing the riven theme I made a tealight holder yesterday:

4 thoughts on “NE American trees

  1. Hi Richard,

    That tree standing straight behind the canoe is a young American Elm. The shagbark hickory was a bit to the left of the range of this photo.

    Glad to know you’re bewildered by all the trees here. I am, still.

    Tico

    • Drat! Perhaps this was just a general view. I would recognise one agin though from the bark. The photo is so small it’s a bit hard to tell what it is (unless, of course it’s in your backyard!)

    • Hi Tico. This is yet another example of two nations divided by a common language! The tea light holder has no connection with the Japanese tea ceremonies with which I also am unfamiliar. The object I made is simply a candle holder. We call these small candles ‘tea lights’ I’m not sure exactly when this started, but when I was a lad (as we say in Yorkshire when recalling one’s youth) these candles were called night lights and one of my very early memories is of an ancient relative staying at our cottage and having a comforting night light at her bedside in a saucer of water (to prevent fires). I suspect the tea light name may have started when Ikea started shipping them to the UK and selling them in bulk packs in their stores. I think in the US you call ’em votive candles – but I bet you don’t use them when you’re voting 😉

Leave a Reply

