Industrial greenwood working and croissants

I’ve been rather busy shifting the felled timber back to base camp.  I can’t get so near with the trailer so I use the Lift ‘n’Shift:

This little helper allows me to move logs that are too heavy to lift by picking a log up near its centre with a pair of dogs.  The long handle gives leverage to help pick up.  I fasten a rope on to help stabilise, note the cunning use of the log tongs to secure the rope, and the tongs are needed at either end – the felling site and stacking in the trailer. A load this size (although part of the load is out of frame) is enough for one old body:

The logs have then to be unloaded as well so a load a day is a very good work out.

I’m using some of this big stuff to make scratter axles.  A scratter reduces apples to a pulp prior to pressing for cider (hard cider) or apple juice (cider) (stateside translation in brackets). The size my local brewery wants is about the biggest my current set up can cope with.  I had to drill a hole to get max capacity in the horse – the billet is about 6 inches diameter after splitting and axe work:

Quite fun turning it down too, I’ve done one in sycamore and one in birch  They are just roughed out and then I’ll dry them for a few weeks/months and skim them round again once seasoned.

One of the ash trees I took down (another leaner) was partly hollow, I thought I could make them into natural bird boxes – watch this space:

4 thoughts on “Industrial greenwood working and croissants

  1. That Lift ‘n’Shift is just the ticket! I saw one in a wood magazine from the UK a couple of years ago and have asked around to see if anyone makes them in the USA. So far, it appears not, though it looks like a simple design to fabricate.

    I know you do “green” woodworking, but a couple of those logs look particularly green.

  2. In the last picture you can see what in swedish is called “svallved”, where the tree tried to seal/cover its wound from both sides. Traditionally that part was considered the best wood for axe handles and other very durable things. Is there something about that in english and what is it called there? Too bad you cut it up :P.

    • Jonas, I wish I’d known about that, I do rehandle axes. I think in English we just call it callousing. Luckily I have another length of timber from the same tree with svallved so I will certainly be saving that for handles.
      Tico, The achp who sells the Lift n Shift had one fabricated for his own use when he acquired some windblown oak next to where he lives. It was so useful he now sells them. I’ve modified mine as the dogs were a bit poor on the original and refused to bite into beech timber which has a very thin bark. I use two cant hooks hooks from a Sandvik/Bahco felling bar they can be obtained as spares. I can manhandle butts with it that are way too heavy to lift unaided, it means if I cut timber to lengths twice my standard size I save on trips from the woods to the trailer. I can then saw them up in the trailer so they’re easier to load and manhandle. I got mine from Graham Wheeler who designed it his email is: mailto:gwheeler49@hotmail.com he may know whether there is a manufacturer in The States. Failing that I can provide dimensions.

Leave a Reply

