Un-green wood

I’ve just finished a rather unusual job involving old oak.

The brief was to find some driftwood to fill a space over a garage door, 8 foot wide. Well I live about as far as you can get from the sea in England (90 miles East, 46 miles West – (Funny, I thought we were about in the middle!).

Anyway, I found some old oak and scrubbed it with washing soda:

When it’s been up a while, I think it will fade to grey.  Anyway, the client and I were pleased with the result.

It is fastened up properly – invisible fixings.

Saw some good old kitchen chairs on the job too. Further investigation required.

Leave a Reply

